Namaste Yoga 328 Awakening to Your True Self Series, The Six Perfections: Patience Part 2

by Melissa West on

Post image for Namaste Yoga 328  Awakening to Your True Self Series, The Six Perfections: Patience Part 2

Patience Part 2

Yoga-for-Patience-Part-2In our Awakening Your True Self Series we are exploring the Six Paramitas or Six Perfections. The intention behind cultivating the six perfections is for the development of compassion. It is considered a path of the Bodhisattva. Today we are reflecting on the third paramita or third perfection which is ksanti paramita or forbearance, tolerance and patience.
Ksanti Paramita teaches that life is difficult from time to time. We will all experience the suffering of illness, financial hardship, difficulties in relationships, addiction, and emotional despair. There is even the everyday suffering of small annoyances from frustrations, to setbacks and situational depression. With ksanti paramita, we have the option to meet our resistance, our “I can’t believe this is happening to me,” with patience, tolerance and forbearance. Instead of refusing to accept and blaming anything, anyone even ourselves and becoming bitter we can ask for patience. May I be patient.

According to ksanti paramita there are three kinds of hardships that we will face.

  1. Personal pain and hardship both physical and emotional
  2. Pain caused by our personal relationships or interactions with others
  3. The painful truth about our life

Last week in Namaste Yoga 326 we practiced with the physical and emotional pain we experience by creating space in our bodies through breath and yoga postures. This week are are going to explore the pain of human relationships.

If human beings were completely loving, compassionate and forgiving then there would be no conflict in human relationships. In truth we all come into relationships with some level of ignorance, greed, fear and desire that leads to poor behaviour and pain in relationships. With mindful awareness we can learn to see that it is lack of clear thinking, rather than the person themselves that is at fault and have compassion and forgiveness.

Our relationships can become the object of our yoga practice, just like a yoga posture or breath practice. When we experience pain in a relationship, we can say, “Oh Wonderful! This is a tremendous opportunity for practice in off my yoga mat and in my life.” We can practice loving kindness first for ourselves and for our own distressed and tender heart. Then we can practice loving kindness loving kindness for the person bothering that is bothering us, knowing that they too are suffering to not be able to meet another human being with love, compassion and respect.

Breath again is another vehicle through which we can create space when we notice that tightening in our bodies in response to the suffering that we experience in relationships. In your day to day life you can pause and take a deep and grounding breath. Today we are practicing nadi shodhana or alternate nostril breathing because it is to me the breath of relationships and an incredibly purifying and balancing breath. Nadi means channel or flow and shodhana means purification and so I feel it is a wonderful breath to clear and purify the subtle energy channels of our body, while balancing our left and right or masculine and feminine aspects that may easily get out of balance when we experience pain in relationships.


Upaya Zen Center The Six Perfections Dharma Podcast Series with Norman and Kathie Fischer

How to Neti Pot: Click Here

Thank you to Sounds True for Mark Nepo’s book Inside the Miracle
I read the poem “Willfulness” from Inside the Miracle in savasana today

Props Needed: yoga bolster, meditation cushion or folded blanket for seated positions

Yoga Postures/Asanas: Alternate Nostril Breathing or Nadi Shodhana, Knee to Chest Pose or Apanasana, Half Happy Baby Pose or Ardha Ananda Balasana, Cat Pose or Marjaryasana, Chaturmukha Mudra, Tree Pose or Vrksasana, Warrior One or Virabhadrasana One, Peaceful Warrior or Shanti Virabhadrasana, Dolphin Pose or Ardha Pincha Mayurasana, Reclined Bound Angle or Supta Baddha Konasana, Jathara Parivartanasana or Revolved Belly Twist, Happy Baby Pose or Ananda Balasana, Savasana or Corpse Pose

Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavantu

Did you like today’s show?

  • Share it with a friend, family member or email it to a coworker.
  • Like
  • Subscribe to our channel. Subscribe to my Living Your Yoga Channel
  • Please leave us a 5-star review on Itunes
  • Leave your comment below.

Thank you for your donations: Peter, Donna, Leah, Eva, and Peggy Thank you for your continued kindness and generous support. It helps us to produce this show and offer a free one hour yoga class every Friday.

Today’s question to answer in the comments is: How are you bringing patience to your relationships?

The intention behind cultivating the six perfections is for the development of compassion. If you would like an infographic of 4 easy and practical ways to incorporate compassion into your life then put your email address into the box below and we will send you 4 easy and practical ways you can incorporate compassion rituals into your life.

If you would like more support in developing patience to your relationships then I would highly recommend loving kindness meditation practice. We have a loving kindness meditation group in our membership community. This can provide ongoing support for your meditation practice.

Become a Member Today

Namaste Yoga 328 Photos of Yoga Pose


Previous post:

Next post: